top of page
White Abstract

The Adelaide Hills Chamber Players is an ensemble of professional musicians who rehearse and perform in the Adelaide Hills. We aim to make quality music accessible to communities in the Adelaide Hills and wider regional South Australia. 



Mozart, Beethoven, Vaughan Williams

for String Orchestra and Soloists


Leader: Helen Ayres 

January 20-24, 2022


The Richness of concerto form:

Soloist with chamber orchestra over three centuries.


Celebrated Adelaide violinist, Helen Ayres, directs the chamber orchestra from the leader's desk.


Lucinda Collins, Helen Ayres, Sara Lambert and Kyle Fraser share their rich solo artistry, by turns virtuosic and supremely expressive. We journey with them from Vienna of 18th & 19th centuries to Britain and the Continent of the 20th.

Thurs 20 Jan - 7:30pm
Goolwa [Centenary Hall]

Fri 21 Jan - 7:30pm

Mt Barker [UKARIA Cultural Centre]

Sat 22 Jan - 7:30pm
Noarlunga Centre [Hopgood Theatre]


Mon 24 Jan - 7:30pm
Halifax St, Adelaide, [St Johns Anglican Church]


Back to booking
CONCERTO Rhapsody program

 P R O G R A M 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concert Aria for Soprano with Piano obbligato K 505

Sara Lambert [Soprano], Kyle Fraser [Piano]

Mozart’s Concert Aria with Piano obbligato, his most celebrated work in the genre, was written specifically for Nancy Storace, the English soprano who created Susanna in The Marriage of Figaro,  first performed by her with Mozart at the piano at a 1787 farewell concert in Vienna.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 1, Opus 15 

Soloist: Lucinda Collins [Piano]


We are pleased to present the artistry of Adelaide’s own Lucinda Collins, one of Australia’s finest pianists, through the medium of Beethoven’s magnificent first piano concerto, accompanied by a string orchestral rendering of a quintet version published in Stuttgart in 1882.

Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending, A Romance for Violin & Chamber Orchestra

Soloist: Helen Ayres [Violin]


Andante sostenuto, Allegretto tranquillo, Allegro tranquillo, Allegretto molto tranquillo. The inspiration for Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending came from an 1881 poem of that name by George Meredith and the first 12 lines of the poem were placed at the beginning of the published musical score. As the Italian terms imply, there is great tranquillity in the work belying the technical surety needed to create the required mood. 

Frank Martin: Pavane Couleur du Temps


The works of celebrated 20th C Swiss composer Frank Martin inspire us with lyricism and harmonic adventure but sit comfortably within a beautifully accessible overall musical language.

January 20 - 24, 2022


Early Bird (until 31st Dec)                               $42

Adults                                                                $65


Concessions/ Senior                                        $48


Students & Under 30                                       $28

bottom of page